Skip to content

A bride’s despair. What do you do if white or ivory doesn’t suit you?

28/01/2010

You’d be surprised how many of us there are. We spend our entire lives waiting for the moment we’re proposed to, so we can run around frantically with our best friends in the local bridal boutiques trying on dresses, swooning and cooing and excitedly exclaiming “I feel like a princess!”. But imagine your despair if you’re faced with the problem that I was back in early 2007 as I started on my pre-wedding journey.

I’d never been a huge fan of wearing white or cream, but had presumed when I got married it would be different. I really wasn’t prepared for the fact that every wedding gown I tried on, whether vintage or contemporary, made me look washed-out, ordinary and to be honest, like I was suffering from some sort of drug addiction – not a look a girl is trying to achieve on her big day! So what do you do? Well ladies, you have to be a little brave and be prepared for the unconvinced looks on the faces of parents and grandparents, and opt for colour…..pick a colour, any colour, but go for something that you know makes you look and feel special, that brings out your features and that reflects your personality. You can still achieve your dream look and style in a colour other than the traditional selection. That’s what I did – my dress was a electric blue velvet shot with red which shone a different colour from every angle and I adored it! It was the star of the show and even my harshest critics came round on the day.

Don’t get me wrong, I love an ivory lace number as much as the next girl, but for me, the fairytale dress I’d dreamed of just wasn’t going to work, so I had to get over it and find something that did and that reflected my personality. In the end, my (I still say my but I mean ‘Our’ of course) entire wedding became centred around the dress. As I was looking forward to being the centre of attention (who isn’t, it’s the only time we can get away with it without seeming selfish!), we kept everything monotone (from the guests and bridesmaids to the venue) except for me (plus a matching tie on my dad and hubby to be)……and it worked better than I could have ever imagined. Plus all my friends and family loved us as they already owned little black dresses and black suits, so nobody had to shell out on wedding outfit if they didn’t want to.

If I could give one bit of advice it would just be to follow your instincts. If you know that white or cream is not going to work or doesn’t suit your style, don’t go for it. Don’t hold back because you’re afraid to be a little different. You can still have other more traditional aspects.  I had a cream veil, and pearls that I made work through having a cream sash on my dress and cream shoes, so I still felt like a bride and kept my more traditional side of the bridal party happy…..but better actually, as I felt like me!

I guess looking back now, I wish I had been brave enough to take the colour further and perhaps been a little more daring with other aspects of the ceremony……although I think anything further than making our guests sing Beatles songs half way through the vows, may have been as far as we could have pushed some people…who knows.

Love Saz x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/02/2010 7:05 pm

    I think it’s time to break with these conventions! I work with brides who are always looking to put a signature style on their event and changing up the color is perfect the opportunity! If you must have the white or ivory dress — bring in some bold color with a sash or jewelry. Use bright colors in your reception design — use your event to say who you are! When people attend your wedding, they are with you on the start of a journey — why not make that journey an adventure and start it out with NEW COLORFUL traditions!

    • 03/02/2010 7:20 pm

      Absolutely – I’m convinced that colour is the way of the future. It makes for such a memorable day and a gorgeous set of photos to boot. x

  2. Suzie permalink
    26/03/2010 12:25 pm

    I got married in February and wore a midnight blue dress by Eternity Bride number D2031!

    Its sooo stunning and i loved it! Break with tradition a bit!!

    x

    • 26/03/2010 12:32 pm

      so glad you agree! do you have a photo – always love to see other brides who have broken from the norm….if any brides you want to submit your photographs of your coloured wedding dresses, i’d love to feature you all. drop me a line at saz@flatfive.co.uk

  3. 26/03/2010 2:04 pm

    I totally agree! One of our friends – a gorgeous Swedish redhead – chose a vibrant emerald green dress for her big day and as you can imagine she looked absolutely stunning.

  4. Forever Flawless Hair and Makeup permalink
    24/09/2010 12:06 pm

    One of my brides wore red! (i’m a hair and makeup artist) Amazing and very striking. Don’t forget the Indian brides, they always wear colour. Check out my website http://www.foreverflawless.com.au and see brides in colour.

Trackbacks

  1. Rock 'n Roll Bride · Thursday Treats – 25th March 2010

Leave a Reply

